Hard Cider

It’s fall and you know what that means… no, not flu season. Hard apple cider!

We got some pretty nice apples in our yard this year.

You're doing a great job, Dad. Keep it up. I'm just going to snap a few more photos while you finish harvesting the rest of this tree.

Can you go a little faster please Dad?

We added a couple pounds of honey to 5 gallons of juice to increase the amount of fermentable sugar, which should result in a higher alcohol content in the final product.

Then we put it in the carboy and pitched in the yeast. A lot of foam gets cast off during the first couple days of fermentation; my hope is that it will travel out my extremely high-tech apparatus (plastic hose stuffed in the top of the carboy), avoiding the volcanic spew of diarrhea-looking sludge that we had last year.

It should be done in 3 or 4 weeks so if it sounds like something you might like, start sucking up to us now.

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Teresa said,

    Let me count the ways that I love the Roberts family….
    1. All so clever!
    2. Hard cider
    3. They are the smartest family I know.
    4 .Hard cider
    5. I just love Jim’s new rustic looks
    6.Hard Cider
    7. etc…..

    • 2

      Anna said,

      That’s what I’m talking about! Keep it comin’! Your bottle is virtually guaranteed with all these accurate, insightful comments.

  2. 3

    Teresa said,

    Oh yes, I forgot to add that Anna is my favorite Roberts family member!

  3. 4

    Sara said,

    Okay! I’ll book my plane ticket for about a month from now. 🙂

  4. 6

    stephanie Schmitz said,

    Looks delicious!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

