Our first egg!!

On 9/27 we awoke to a huge commotion down in the House of Omelettes. It was about 3 a.m. At 6:00 I went down to see if someone was dying. No, they all came running to greet me as usual. As soon as I left, tho, the noise began again with the addition of a distinct sighing/groaning sound coming from one hen. Finally, a few hours later (!) there was silence. By this time, I was a wreck. I ran down to see, and sure enough, there was this perfect little brown egg in a nest box.

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Cheryl said,

    Oh my gosh! Do have to listen to this every time one gives birth to an egg?

    • 2

      Jan said,

      It’s turning out that way…So far there’s been seven eggs, and I think maybe four hens are laying. Can’t wait until all 18 are laying… I can tell how many eggs will be in the nests before I ever go down to collect them!

  2. 3

    Teresa Baker said,

    OMG!!!!!
    Makes me wanna cry. You’re not going to eat it are you?

  3. 5

    Sherri Roberts said,

    Hi Roberts Family
    We were hoping to see you this holiday but Ann told us of the germ that attacked Jan. Bad, bad germ!

    Hope you have a happy holiday. Meredith arrives tomorrow so this part of the family will be complete.

  4. 6

    Anna said,

    Hi Sherri! Wish we could get down to see you all too, but yes, Mom’s been victimized by evil germs! Love to everyone and have a wonderful xmas together.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

